Awesome As A One

Spring Cleaning Day 1 – Space Clearing

Posted in Spring Cleaning by allegrator on May 5, 2009

Today was all about clearing off surfaces.  I feel like we have a PRETTY good handle on keeping things put away.  It’s amazing, though, how in about 23 seconds a clear space can become a disaster zone.  I do try to pick things up throughout the day, though, even if it feels like I’m running in circles.

Here are a few spaces I quickly pulled together.  The first is my bedside table.  You will see that I am currently reading the NY Times Magazine, the Dr. Sears Baby Book, and a book about children and eating that I read about on Ask Moxie (good read, by the way).  I also try to fill in my 10-year diary each day — another cool idea that I hope I can stick with.

Because I like to pull from all of these things on various evenings, I left most of them on the table.  I did, however, clear away all of the stuff that I’m done with, including a couple of New Yorkers.  Also notice that no dusting was done. That’s another day, right?

Bedside Table Before

Bedside Table Before

Bedside Table After

Bedside Table After

Since renovating our bathroom, my makeup has also been upstairs in what I call our “mid” room.  My dresser is in there, as is my nursing glider.  I keep more books on this table to grab at when I’m nursing.  You can see, though, that it has quickly been overtaken by the makeup.  I like having it in this space, but it definitely needed to be straightened up a bit.  It’s hard to see, but I love that there’s a little board book in that blue makeup bag.  What’s also super funny about this scene is that of all that silly makeup I use ABOUT 4 items on a daily basis.  I think it’s time to downsize.

Nursing Table Before

Nursing Table Before

Nursing Table After

Nursing Table After

Amidst all of these little messy corners I did find this little treasure:

Miss Sunshine

Miss Sunshine

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tsh said, on May 5, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Looks great! Way to gol

  2. Mel of Hobocamp said, on May 5, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Great! Awesome on the treasury! And what a find on that little Sunshine!

  3. abbiepark said, on May 6, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    I am guessing these two areas are ones you use often. Great job organizing them! I am sure looking at your clutter-clear surfaces gives you a new sense of calm!
    Thanks for the post.
    Abbie


Leave a Reply

