Awesome As A One

Spring Cleaning Day 4 & 5 – The Kitchen

Posted in Parenting, Spring Cleaning by allegrator on May 8, 2009

Tackled a few corners of the kitchen these past couple of days.  Cleaned out under the sink, cleared away some cans for the mail-carrier food drive tomorrow, and sorted through my spices.  Ah, the spices.  Are they supposed to be alphabetical or something?  That would take a considerable amount of effort and then last about 7 seconds in my kitchen.  Before long the coriander would be next to the turmeric, the garlic salt tucked in between the vanilla and some cinammon.  For now I’ll just stick with all tall jars together, all small tubs together, and all most used items on the Lazy Susan.  This photo captures the before shot — the after, oddly, looks quite similar.  Sorry I don’t have a photo.  Just imagine all the tall items down below, the tubby ones on the mid shelf, and a straightened up version of the Lazy Susan.

Spices before

Spices before

I’m proud to have conquered under the kitchen sink. It’s dark and deep and gets very cluttered very quickly.  I repurposed a wire shelf from our bathroom and am glad to have the cleaners all tucked together like that.  As my baby girl gets more mobile, this will be the first cupboard with a latch, obviously.  And yes, I know that Clorox cleaner is totally not eco-friendly.  I can’t help it. It’s the worst offender in my cleaning arsenal, I promise.  See the Meyer’s? And the Method?

Kitchen sink

Kitchen sink

Finally, a tip:  For those of you with babies who are sitting up, but still a BIT wobbly (as my little one is), consider this as an option when you’d like to try and get a few things done but don’t want to set all those pillows up on the kitchen floor.  Note also the improvised toy.  She loves that thing.

Baby in basket.

Baby in basket.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mel of Hobocamp said, on May 8, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    We’ve totally done the basket! BTW the outfit sunny is wearing- is the same one we brought Hazel home from the hospital in!

  2. anothernewseason said, on May 9, 2009 at 12:33 am

    I love the baby in a basket idea – I’ll be doing that next week with my 7 month old! Your kitchen looks great too 🙂

  3. […] feel so terrible. I was doing so well, what with the projects I tackled in the living room and the kitchen.  Next thing you know we’re on to the bathroom…which my husband just redid and I […]


Leave a Reply

